Posted by: kubke | December 21, 2009

You can now start playing with the data

Hello all,

Thank you so much to all of you who have been contributing Tui sightings.  I have now entered the data on a spreadsheet on Google Docs (here).

To maintain the integrity of the data, we are not allowing editing, but you can make copies and start playing with the data.  If you make plots, or put the data on a map, please let us know if you would like us to share what you do with it on the site.

You can continue to contribute by posting on the comments box, or by emailing us at popscinz [at] gmail.com.

Responses

  1. Hi Guys, here’s a map form the ‘maps’ gadget at google-docs.

    Super-easy to do, if you wanted you could add the same thing to the official data and have it update as often as you add data to the spreadsheet.

    • WooHoo David! You are bringing this to such a new level! The map looks just wonderful…. I am still trying to figure it out. (If I don’t I may have to add you as an official mapping volunteer). By the way, where was that meeting you went to where you spotted the tui exactly?

  2. Well, I’m glad to help anyway I can but it shouldn’t be too hard once you get a handle on it ;)

    Something like

    insert -> gadget -> maps -> map

    then range = Sheet1!C:D (just the site and description fields), one header row and check the remaining boxes.

    I found that the google-maps geocoding wanted to put Tui in the US and Europe so I added “new zealand” to each location.

    As to my little siting it was in Tautuku in the Catlins in Otago-Southland.

    Cheers,
    David

    • Got the gadget in, but now created an extra column so that I can put more ‘google maps friendly’ locations. I am getting sighitngs in the UK, the US and South Africa! LOL! Unfortunately I cannot get the droplets to tell me what location they are pointing to, so I will need to add one by one to make sure they fall on the correct spot. If internet wasn’t so slow, this could even be fun :). Thanks for the tip, and also thanks for the location!


Leave a Reply

Categories

